What is a Conservation District?


Conservation Districts are subdivisions of state government that work to address natural resource concerns. The Lancaster Soil and Water Conservation District is committed to improving the quality of life for the citizens of Lancaster County.  

The Lancaster Soil and Water Conservation District consists of a board of five commissioners- three elected in the general election and two appointed by the South Carolina Department of Natural Resources. These commissioners volunteer their time, talents, and services to help improve natural resource awareness.

For over sixty years, the Lancaster Soil and Water Conservation District is here to serve YOU!  Our conservation district is working for you and your community to promote wise use of our natural resources.

We have a partnership with USDA-Natural Resources Conservation Service and SC Department of Natural Resources.


Officials Of The Lancaster Soil and Water Conservation District:

Joe Ghent, Chairman
Gary Moore, Vice Chairman
Diane Estridge, Secretary/ Treasurer 

Troy Helms

Brandan Craig
William "Bill" Ardrey, Commissioner Emeritus

Lancaster Soil and Water Conservation District Personnel:
Amanda Roberts, District Manager

USDA-NRCS Personnel:

Chesterfield Office Number: 843-623-2185 x 3

Daniel Griffin, District Conservationist Lancaster and Chesterfield Counties

Sue Griggs, Soil Conservationist Lancaster and Chesterfield Counties

Dan Schultz, Soil Conservation Technician Lancaster and Chesterfield Counties


Lancaster Soil and Water Conservation District Board

Cane Creek and Little Lynches Watershed Boards

T: 803-286-4455 x 100

F: 1-855-589-9004

E: amanda.roberts@sc.nacdnet.net

Mailing Address: PO Box 2274

Lancaster, SC 29721

Office Location: 1771 Hwy 521 Bypass South in Lancaster, SC.

-on the hill across from Fastenal

© 2023 by Lancaster SWCD.
Proudly created with Wix.com